Bottom of the 33rd - Dan Barry

Bottom of the 33rd

By Dan Barry

  • Release Date: 2011-04-12
  • Genre: Sports & Outdoors
Score: 4
4
From 60 Ratings

Description

“Bottom of the 33rd is chaw-chewing, sunflower-spitting, pine tar proof that too much baseball is never enough.” —Jane Leavy, author of The Last Boy and Sandy Koufax 

“What a book—an exquisite exercise in story-telling, democracy and myth-making.” —Colum McCann, winner of the National Book Award for  Let The Great World Spin 

From Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times columnist Dan Barry comes the beautifully recounted story of the longest game in baseball history—a tale celebrating not only the robust intensity of baseball, but the aspirational ideal epitomized by the hard-fighting players of the minor leagues. In the tradition of Moneyball, The Last Hero, and Wicked Good Year, Barry’s Bottom of the 33rd is a reaffirming story of the American Dream finding its greatest expression in timeless contests of the Great American Pastime.

Reviews

  • Wonderful book

    5
    By Listen511
    Great history and well told. A clever and articulate author tells a magnificent story with unexpected and interesting extras. Highly recommended.
  • Bottom of the 33rd

    5
    By Jimfq
    I might be biased, having grown up in Pawtucket and being familiar with the places and some of the characters in this book, but I really enjoyed Bottom of the 33rd. It captures the feelings and frustrations of minor league baseball. Not much glamour here but filled with a variety of characters from Hall of Fame baseball players to scoreboard operators. A must read for fans of minor league baseball, it enhances both the understanding of the game and appreciation of all that goes into it.
  • Great read for any age

    5
    By Chrissy P8397
    This is a great read for all ages and it mixes baseball with the real life of people